LibGuides: Nursing &amp; Midwifery: Databases

The Top Databases for Nursing and Midwifery

These are the most useful subject databases for Nursing and Midwifery. You will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This international database covers journal articles (and also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
British Nursing Index (BNI) with Full Text is a full-text version of the British Nursing Index (BNI), a leading bibliographic database supporting the practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK and the greater nursing community. This full text database provides abstracting and indexing for hundreds of titles, with coverage dating back to 1993. Literature coverage focuses on titles published in the UK, Australia and Canada, plus a selection of important international nursing titles.

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures (Tenth edition)

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures (Tenth edition)
Clinical nurse experts from one of the UK’s leading centres of expertise have brought together all the latest clinical evidence nurses need to meet confidently the requirements of their demanding profession. The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Additional Databases

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

CareKnowledge
Database of health and social care topics. Provides access to selected articles from a range of journals covering topics such as addiction, health and wellbeing, older people and mental health.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Unique source of reliable, up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, including evidence-based systematic reviews and clinical trials. No username or password required in the United Kingdom.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

LILACS: Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature
This database is recommended by Cochrane Collaboration as a source for global health. research. It includes systematic reviews, randomized controlled clinical trials, evidence synthesis, health technology evaluation studies, economic evaluation studies, clinical practice guidelines, technical reports, case reports and others. Available in English, Portuguese and Spanish.

MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Medical database searched via the US National Library of Medicine. Unrestricted access.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

Nursing & Midwifery: Databases

Using Databases

The Top Databases for Nursing and Midwifery

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures (Tenth edition)

Additional Databases

Kimberlin Library

Nursing & Midwifery: Databases

Using Databases

The Top Databases for Nursing and Midwifery

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures (Tenth edition)

Additional Databases

Kimberlin Library

Connect with the Library