LibGuides: Video Imaging and Sonic Arts: Databases

What are databases?

Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc.

Library Search is a database of databases and allows you to search the content of most databases in one go.

The databases listed below are databases which are particularly relevant to your subject.

Check this link for a list of all individual databases bought by the library.

Databases

Music, Arts and Applied Arts

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a comprehensive online resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
This online database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts content is hosted on the Bloomsbury Visual Arts platform.
This comprehensive online resource comprises a collection of over 170 richly illustrated books packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses. It covers a diverse range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published since 1973. Includes data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Rock's Backpages, which launched in September 2001, is the world's most comprehensive online database of pop music writing, a unique resource unavailable elsewhere online. It contains an ever-expanding collection of primary-source full-text articles from the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day, along with a collection of exclusive audio interviews.

Technical

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a key online database for computer science topics from the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). It contains the full text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and videos.
AES E-Library This link opens in a new window
The AES E-Library contains almost every Audio Engineering Society paper published at a convention, conference or in the journal from 1953 to the present.

Requires unique username and password provider by publisher. Please enter your DMU Single Sign On account to view the unique username and password.
The Audio Engineering Society is the only professional society devoted exclusively to audio technology. Founded in the United States in 1948, the AES has grown to become an international organisation that unites audio engineers, creative artists, scientists and students worldwide by promoting advances in audio and disseminating new knowledge and research.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text access to IEEE and IEE journals, transactions and conference proceedings since 1988 and current IEEE standards.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Please note: students and staff are currently unable to download standards through the FileOpen plug-in when accessing from a DMU PC or DMU-issued device. The library is working with ITMS to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Students/staff using their own (personal) device are unaffected and will be able to install the free FileOpen software.

Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.

To download and print PDF documents from the British Standards site from 1st Sep 2021, you will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. You can still view documents online without the plug-in.
You can download the FileOpen plug-in from the FileOpen website.
Some web browsers will open PDFs in-browser as default behaviour. This will cause an error when opening British Standards PDFs. To avoid this error, please save the document to your device first, and then open the file.
For further information and support, please read the following library news blog post.
The FileOpen Frequently Asked Questions page on the British Standards website can help with some problems encountered when using this software. Some users have reported issues dealing with Digital Rights Management (https://bsol.bsigroup.com/ContentProvider/FAQs?menuSelected=Digital%20Rights%20Management) error messages.

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences III This link opens in a new window
An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music.
Please note current issues of journals are not included.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Detailed market research reports on a wide range of UK market sectors. Also includes information on demographics and trend drivers.

Please note: you may not reproduce or otherwise use the Mintel website or any information therein as an input for any artificial intelligence system ("AI system").
Market research resource including several series of reports: Market Intelligence, Leisure Intelligence, Retail Intelligence, Financial Intelligence, Library specials and Industrial reports. There is also a database specialising in marketing news.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
WARC This link opens in a new window
World Advertising Research Centre's Advertising and Knowledge Database is a collection of case studies and articles on advertising, marketing and media activity. It includes trend analysis, research reports and strategic marketing guidance.
Zetoc This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from 20,000 research journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year and held in the British Library from 1993 to date.
Includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers. All subject fields are covered.

Lexis+ UK Newspapers This link opens in a new window
To access UK national and regional newspapers through the Lexis+ platform, click on the Content tab from the Lexis+ homepage and then select Newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.

Video Imaging and Sonic Arts: Databases

What are databases?

Databases

Kimberlin Library

Connect with the Library