Design Products: Databases

EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles. The database also includes more than 70,000 videos from the Associated Press. This collection of videos is updated monthly and includes footage from 1930 to the present day. 

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.

A Black Lives Matter learning resource, featuring a collection of articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.

This resource comprises a collection of over 170 richly illustrated books with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for practice-led visual arts courses. It covers a range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.

Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.

To download and print PDF documents from British Standards, you are required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. You can still view documents online without the plug-in.
You can download the FileOpen plug-in from the FileOpen website.
To download, please save the document to your device first, and then open the file.

DMU registered staff and students (authorised users) may print one hard copy and may download one single electronic copy of any of the Documents (the Permitted Copies). The Permitted Copies may not be used to build a hard copy or electronic reference collection that exceeds 5% of the total Documents under our subscribed products. The Permitted Copies must be destroyed or removed when our subscription to BSI ends and/or on completion of your degree programme and/or contract (whichever applies). Authorised Users may copy up to 10% of the content of any of the Documents for use in another document for other authorised users. All copied content must contain the phrase “Copyright BSI Standards Limited © {Date} (where {Date} is the Date of the copying).

This online index is the premier source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. The database covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.

This database provides an online collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewal energy, recycling, and more.

Full text access to IEEE and IEE journals, transactions and conference proceedings since 1988 and current IEEE standards.

The ProQuest Ebook Central platform provides online access to eBooks from trusted publishers across all academic subject areas. This includes coverage to the Literature & Language eBooks collection associated with the university's ProQuest One Literature subscription.

Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

A key online database for global business and economics topics, including thousands of full text journals, company news, country/industry reports and trend reporting. ABI features key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist. 

EBSCO released a new Business Search Interface (BSI) in July 2025. This new interface makes business research more intuitive and efficient. Students and staff can easily browse leading business journals and magazines, search specific topics and easily locate country economic data, company profiles, industry information, and market research. 

EBSCO's Business Source Ultimate is an indispensable resource for business students. The database offers access to more than 3,500 active full text journals, including many peer-reviewed publications. It spans various business topics, from current trends to historical information and global perspectives. The resource also includes important video collections, such as a new collection of videos from Academy of Management.

An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music.

Please note current issues of journals are not included.

An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

A complete searchable online archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

An archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Every page is fully searchable, and reproduced in full color and high resolution. Country Life Archive presents a chronicle of more than 100 years of British heritage, including its art, architecture, and landscapes, with an emphasis on leisure pursuits such as antique collecting, hunting, shooting, equestrian news, and gardening.