LibGuides: Arts and Festivals Management: Databases

Databases

Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. . Here are some useful Arts and Festivals Management databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a comprehensive online resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
IIPA provides indexing and abstracts from journals covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Coverage goes back to 1864.
Subculture Archives This link opens in a new window
To access the online resource, please click on the Log in via your University or Institution link and then select De Montfort University. You will then be prompted to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password.

The Subculture Archives is an educational and cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. From the world's leading collection of youth culture history.

The collection incorporates photographs, ephemera, objects and oral histories celebrating our shared youth culture history.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A key online database for global business and economics topics, including thousands of full-text journals, company news, country/industry reports and trend reporting.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Business Source Complete is an indispensable resource for business students. The database supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, marketing and economics. The database also includes country economic reports from a range of authoritative sources.
Emerald Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Gives access to articles from over 120 important academic journal titles in the fields of business, management and economics.
The full-text archives date from 1994 and abstracts from 1989.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Detailed market research reports on a wide range of UK market sectors. Also includes information on demographics and trend drivers.

Please note: you may not reproduce or otherwise use the Mintel website or any information therein as an input for any artificial intelligence system ("AI system").
Market research resource including several series of reports: Market Intelligence, Leisure Intelligence, Retail Intelligence, Financial Intelligence, Library specials and Industrial reports. There is also a database specialising in marketing news.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global business data platform. The resource includes insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries. Use it for market, company and country research topics.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Forecasting and trend analysis for style, fashion and design; includes fashion image library and online space for personal creative development.
Insight provides market intelligence and analysis of trends in consumer attitudes, marketing, retail experience and innovation.
Lifestyle & Interiors provides insight, updates and forecasts into interior design, inspiration, and retail intelligence in the lifestyle, hospitality and interiors industries.
You have been given access to the content of WGSN for your own personal, non-commercial and information purpose only. You must not share or distribute such content across social media and any other external platforms.
It is important that you understand that your access and logins are limited to you as an authorised user of De Montfort University and any breach in the use of their content may result in prosecution, damage claims and loss of access to everyone else in the institution.

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Rock's Backpages, which launched in September 2001, is the world's most comprehensive online database of pop music writing, a unique resource unavailable elsewhere online. It contains an ever-expanding collection of primary-source full-text articles from the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day, along with a collection of exclusive audio interviews.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new window
Access to full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
This platform provides online access to over 2,000 full text journals across many different subject areas, including Literature, History, Sociology and Social Policy, Criminology, Mathematics, Environmental Science and Sustainability, Physical Science and Information Science.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.

What are databases?

Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc.

Library Search is a database of databases and allows you to search the content of most databases in one go.