Visual Arts: Databases

EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.

A freely available Black Lives Matter online learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.

An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music.

Please note current issues of journals are not included.

This platform provides online access to over 2,000 full text journals across many different subject areas, including Literature, History, Sociology and Social Policy, Criminology, Mathematics, Environmental Science and Sustainability, Physical Science and Information Science.

To access the online resource, please click on the Log in via your University or Institution link and then select De Montfort University. You will then be prompted to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password.

The Subculture Archives is an educational and cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. From the world's leading collection of youth culture history.

The collection incorporates photographs, ephemera, objects and oral histories celebrating our shared youth culture history.

Bloomsbury Screen Studies is an essential resource for students and academics engaged in research and learning in film history, theory, and practice. It offers a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute (BFI).

De Montfort University has access to the following Screen Studies collections: Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism, BFI Film Classics, and BFI Film Studies.

Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming TV and radio programmes by title or keyword, compile favourite shows into playlists and share them with others. On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email). Only available in the UK.

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, focuses on entertainment films and personalities from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and from over 170 countries.
Provides indexing of over 125,000 films and biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

Kanopy provides access to critically-acclaimed movies, thought-provoking documentaries, award-winning foreign films and lots more.

When off campus, please click on Visit the Montfort Collection and then the Log in to Montfort link. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On account to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.

For any titles that are not immediately available to view on the Kanopy site, please complete the Kanopy request form. This will then be reviewed by the relevant subject team to see if a purchase can be approved.

You can watch Kanopy titles on a number of different mobile and TV apps. You can find more information about these different Kanopy apps through the Kanopy support pages.

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

There is no direct image download option currently available on this Bloomsbury platform. If you wish to download an image, please "screengrab" the image from the platform and then save the image to your device. Images can only be downloaded and used for educational purposes.

This online resource showcases more than 775,000 newly-digitised and high quality images that feature forty years of contemporary fashion history along with a timeline, lesson plans and videos. The archive allows you to take an in-depth look at top international designers and their iconic collections, including Vivienne Westwood, Alexander McQueen, John Galliano, Issey Miyake and Yohji Yamamoto.

The Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 spectacular fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979-2003. The videos are accompanied by exclusive scholarly articles that provide essential context to the collection, shedding light on key shows, the evolution of trends, iconic designers, and the transformation of runway spectacles to performance art.

To access the database, you will first need to verify your status as a DMU student or staff by logging in with your university Single Sign On account. You will then be asked to register a personal account with the resource by using your DMU email address. You will also have to accept the content provider's terms of use before your registration is processed.

If you created a personal account with The Fashion and Race Database during the university's recent trial to the resource, please go to the user registration page and click on the Initialize icon to reactivate your personal account coverage.

The Fashion and Race Database is a dynamic learning platform that examines the history and impact of race in the fashion system and our everyday life. The Fashion and Race and Database provides a roadmap for lasting change in the fashion system, as it offers lessons and resources that diversify how we understand fashion. The database is an invaluable platform for those who agree that it’s time to challenge dominant narratives and harmful practices in fashion.

To access the online resource, please click on the Log in via your University or Institution link and then select De Montfort University. You will then be prompted to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password.

The Subculture Archives is an educational and cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. From the world's leading collection of youth culture history.

The collection incorporates photographs, ephemera, objects and oral histories celebrating our shared youth culture history.

To access UK national and regional newspapers through the Lexis+ platform, click on the Content tab from the Lexis+ homepage and then select Newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Newspapers selected from the British Library's collections, including the Leicester Chronicle, from 1840-1900.

ProQuest's Historical Newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Access to full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019.

A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.