Performance Arts: Databases

Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.

Digital Theatre+ is one of the world's leading educational platforms for the study of performing arts and dramatic texts. The resource provides unlimited access to thousands of full-length productions and educational resources. These materials include e-learning videos, lesson plans, and study guides.

A full text database covering theatre and drama. Plus additional full text available for more than 100 books and monographs.

Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Our constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.
Our unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
Enjoy access to the finest drama texts:
From Aeschylus to the present day.
Student editions, scholarly works and first night programme texts.
The internationally renowned Arden Shakespeare Series.
Realist works from Ibsen and Chekhov.
Major foreign works in translation: Bertolt Brecht, Luigi Pirandello, Eduardo De Filippo, Frank Wedekind and more.
Comic masterpieces from Oscar Wilde and Noël Coward.
Modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Simon Stephens, Mark Ravenhill, Edward Bond, Alan Ayckbourn, Harold Pinter, Christopher Hampton, Brian Friel, Willy Russell, John Osborne, David Greig, David Harrower, April De Angelis, David Hare, Anthony Neilson, Shelagh Stephenson, David Eldridge and many more.
A continually growing collection of the very latest contemporary writers including Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
Now includes streaming media: filmed live performances from Shakespeare's Globe and professional audio recordings from L.A Theatre Works.

Art Full Text is a comprehensive online resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.

This online database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

This online database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.

ProQuest One Literature (formerly known as the Literature Online or LION database) contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,00 primary works. These primary texts include works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day.
The database provides access to more than 1,200 full text journals, with oldest articles dating back to 1850. It also includes audio and video content through its Poets on Screen recordings of poets reading their own and others' work and the Shakespeare Audio Plays collection.
ProQuest One Literature is comprised of different literary collections, including early English and American works. The database also includes collections that focus on Black, Latin American and South/Southeast Asian literature and writers.
Please click on the following online guide for more ProQuest One Literature information and support.

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, focuses on entertainment films and personalities from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and from over 170 countries.
Provides indexing of over 125,000 films and biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

Bloomsbury Screen Studies is an essential resource for students and academics engaged in research and learning in film history, theory, and practice. It offers a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute (BFI).

De Montfort University has access to the following Screen Studies collections: Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism, BFI Film Classics, and BFI Film Studies.