LibGuides: Paramedicine: Databases

Starting points for research

Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. . Here are some useful subject databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text/MEDLINE
Two databases covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of health and medicine.
Nursing and Allied Health Database
ProQuest's Nursing and Allied Health Database is a comprehensive online resource for nursing students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals. The database offers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Scopus
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

Further research

These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.
AgeInfo
This bibliographic database of over 50,000 books articles and reports from the specialist collection on Social Gerontology held at the Centre for Policy on Ageing. The site provides information about organisations active in the field of old age and ageing and an international calendar of events about old age and ageing.
Cochrane Library
Unique source of reliable, up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, including evidence-based systematic reviews and clinical trials.
Education Research Complete
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties as well as areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals, for more than 500 books, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Lexis+ UK
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
MEDLINE (PubMed)
MEDLINE from PubMed is a medical database searched via the US National Library of Medicine. Unrestricted access.
PsycInfo
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
ScienceDirect
Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability.

Searching databases

Worksheet for searching CINAHL Plus with Full Text and other EBSCO databases
Worksheet for searching Scopus
Preparing your Literature Search
Use this if you have an assignment or you are thinking about subjects for a dissertation/major project. It can be used to unpick a question you have been given or help you to shape a question.

Referencing the JRCALC iCPG app

The JRCALC Guidelines are referenced as:

Joint Royal Colleges Ambulance Liaison Committee, Association of Ambulance Chief Executives. (2022). JRCALC Clinical Guidelines. Cited from: JRCALC iCPG (2017) (Version XX) [Mobile application software]. Bridgwater: Class Publishing Ltd. Accessed XX.

Please note: You will need to replace the ‘XX’ above with the version of the app you used and the date you accessed the app.

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.