Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc.
Library Search is a database of databases and allows you to search the content of most databases in one go.
Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. .
You will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard and MyDMU) to access them within and outside the university.
Extensive range of full-text documents covering all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process. Use this resource for essential technical and regulatory information from organisations such as RIBA, BRE, CIRIA, Concrete Society etc. Also includes Building Regulations, Eurocodes, the Metric Handbook and many ebooks.
Scopus indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your personal Elsevier account on first use of this resource. You can find more information about Scopus by clicking on the online support guide at https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.
Digimap’s Ordnance Survey (OS) Collection is the original and definitive service providing a full range of topographic Ordnance Survey data for the UK higher and further education sector. Digimap provides a wide range of tools to help maximise the benefits and value the data can bring to almost every academic discipline.
You will need to register with the Digimap platform once you have logged in for the first time, and also accept the terms and conditions for each Digimap collection you want to access.
The ScienceDirect platform provides online access to full text journals and eBooks published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your personal Elsevier account on first use of this resource.
This database provides an online collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewal energy, recycling, and more.
The AJ supports architecture students by providing in-depth news analysis, insights into issues affecting the industry and building studies with technical details and drawings. The AJ Buildings Library is a digital database that showcases more than 1,900 exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900.
DMU students and staff have to register with their DMU email address via the AJ site to obtain access on and off campus. There is no automatic connection to the site on campus.
To access the AJ Buildings Library, sign in again with your AJ registration details.
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles. The database also includes more than 70,000 videos from the Associated Press. This collection of videos is updated monthly and includes footage from 1930 to the present day.
These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research
Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.
To download and print PDF documents from British Standards, you are required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. You can still view documents online without the plug-in.
You can download the FileOpen plug-in from the FileOpen website.
To download, please save the document to your device first, and then open the file.
DMU registered staff and students (authorised users) may print one hard copy and may download one single electronic copy of any of the Documents (the Permitted Copies). The Permitted Copies may not be used to build a hard copy or electronic reference collection that exceeds 5% of the total Documents under our subscribed products. The Permitted Copies must be destroyed or removed when our subscription to BSI ends and/or on completion of your degree programme and/or contract (whichever applies). Authorised Users may copy up to 10% of the content of any of the Documents for use in another document for other authorised users. All copied content must contain the phrase “Copyright BSI Standards Limited © {Date} (where {Date} is the Date of the copying).
