Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc.
Library Search is a database of databases and allows you to search the content of most databases in one go.
Starting points for research
Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic.
You will need your Single Sign On (the same as MyDMU) to access them within and outside the university.
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.
The AES E-Library contains almost every Audio Engineering Society paper published at a convention, conference or in the journal from 1953 to the present.
The Audio Engineering Society is the only professional society devoted exclusively to audio technology. Founded in the United States in 1948, the AES has grown to become an international organisation that unites audio engineers, creative artists, scientists and students worldwide by promoting advances in audio and disseminating new knowledge and research.
The ACM Digital Library is a key online database for computer science topics from the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). It contains the full text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and videos.
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Please note: students and staff are currently unable to download standards through the FileOpen plug-in when accessing from a DMU PC or DMU-issued device. The library is working with ITMS to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Students/staff using their own (personal) device are unaffected and will be able to install the free FileOpen software.
Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.
To download and print PDF documents from the British Standards site from 1st Sep 2021, you will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. You can still view documents online without the plug-in.
You can download the FileOpen plug-in from the FileOpen website.
Some web browsers will open PDFs in-browser as default behaviour. This will cause an error when opening British Standards PDFs. To avoid this error, please save the document to your device first, and then open the file.
For further information and support, please read the following library news blog post.
The FileOpen Frequently Asked Questions page on the British Standards website can help with some problems encountered when using this software. Some users have reported issues dealing with Digital Rights Management (https://bsol.bsigroup.com/ContentProvider/FAQs?menuSelected=Digital%20Rights%20Management) error messages.
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.
Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc. 
