LibGuides: Education: Databases

Starting points for research

Education Research Complete/ERIC This link opens in a new window
Search two databases covering scholarly research on all areas of education through one interface.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

Further research

These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research. Some have broad coverage of the social sciences, whereas others focus on specific topics relevant to Education. Further information on coverage is provided with each database.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Access Education Database through Proquest Central.
ERIC (IES) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the bibliographic database of the United States Education Resources Information Center.
Records cover journal articles and non-journal documents, with some full text, and the archive dates from 1966.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full text of around 80 landmark journals in behavioural science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections (I to XV) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers access to a range of Education journals.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Available through Kanopy: 23 educational videos supporting early years professionals created by Siren Films.
Access the Siren Films videos here. When off campus, please click on the Log in to Montfort icon. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.
Cambridge Journals Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to 171 journals published by Cambridge University Press from 1827 until 1996 covering most subject areas. Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.
Subject areas covered include: Law, Music and Drama, History, Asian Studies, Classics, Politics and Economics, Language and linguistics, Philosophy and religion, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Ecology and Conservation, and Mathematics and Computer Sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to full text journals published by Elsevier. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability.
Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Arts Premium Collection encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, the Arts Premium Collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews.

Coverage: 1864 - current
Included databases:
ARTbibliographies (ABM)
Arts & Humanities Database
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

Music Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Database

AFI Catalog
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
Film Index International
Teachers TV from Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

Worksheets for searching databases

New Library Search

Key differences between DMU Harvard and Cite Them Right Harvard

Key differences between DMU Harvard and Cite Them Right Harvard for Education students

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education

A comprehensive work, arranged alphabetically, covering entries from definitions of key educational concepts and terms to biographies of key educators and specially written overviews of major educational topics.

Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA)

About DERA

Digital Education Repository Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families. It is maintained by the Institute of Education, a respected research and teaching organisation, which is a graduate college of the University of London.

DERA