Design: Databases

EBSCO's Academic Search database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Essential for understanding Black history and culture, this online resource allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent.

This collection includes never-before digitised primary source documents, including personal papers, organisational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera. The collection has a number of key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London).

A freely available Black Lives Matter online learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.

An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music.

This platform provides online access to over 2,000 full text journals across many different subject areas, including Literature, History, Sociology and Social Policy, Criminology, Mathematics, Environmental Science and Sustainability, Physical Science and Information Science.

A key online database for global business and economics topics, including thousands of full-text journals, company news, country/industry reports and trend reporting.

EBSCO Business Source is a key database for business topics, providing access to the full text of nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, with coverage including virtually all subject areas related to business and economics.

Detailed market research reports on a wide range of UK market sectors. Also includes information on demographics and trend drivers.

Please note: you may not reproduce or otherwise use the Mintel website or any information therein as an input for any artificial intelligence system ("AI system").

Statista is a global business data platform. The resource includes insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries. Use it for market, company and country research topics.

Forecasting and trend analysis for style, fashion and design; includes fashion image library and online space for personal creative development.
Insight provides market intelligence and analysis of trends in consumer attitudes, marketing, retail experience and innovation.
Lifestyle & Interiors provides insight, updates and forecasts into interior design, inspiration, and retail intelligence in the lifestyle, hospitality and interiors industries.

A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.

To access the database, you will first need to verify your status as a DMU student or staff by logging in with your university Single Sign On account. You will then be asked to register a personal account with the resource by using your DMU email address. You will also have to accept the content provider's terms of use before your registration is processed.

If you created a personal account with The Fashion and Race Database during the university's recent trial to the resource, please go to the user registration page and click on the Initialize icon to reactivate your personal account coverage.

The Fashion and Race Database is a dynamic learning platform that examines the history and impact of race in the fashion system and our everyday life. The Fashion and Race and Database provides a roadmap for lasting change in the fashion system, as it offers lessons and resources that diversify how we understand fashion. The database is an invaluable platform for those who agree that it’s time to challenge dominant narratives and harmful practices in fashion.

To access the online resource, please click on the Log in via your University or Institution link and then select De Montfort University. You will then be prompted to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password.

The Subculture Archives is an educational and cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. From the world's leading collection of youth culture history.

The collection incorporates photographs, ephemera, objects and oral histories celebrating our shared youth culture history.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Please note: students and staff are currently unable to download standards through the FileOpen plug-in when accessing from a DMU PC or DMU-issued device. The library is working with ITMS to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Students/staff using their own (personal) device are unaffected and will be able to install the free FileOpen software.

Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.

To download and print PDF documents from the British Standards site from 1st Sep 2021, you will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. You can still view documents online without the plug-in.
You can download the FileOpen plug-in from the FileOpen website.
Some web browsers will open PDFs in-browser as default behaviour. This will cause an error when opening British Standards PDFs. To avoid this error, please save the document to your device first, and then open the file.
For further information and support, please read the following library news blog post.

Extensive range of full-text documents covering all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process.

Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming TV and radio programmes by title or keyword, compile favourite shows into playlists and share them with others. On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email). Only available in the UK.

Kanopy provides access to critically-acclaimed movies, thought-provoking documentaries, award-winning foreign films and lots more.

When off campus, please click on Visit the Montfort Collection and then the Log in to Montfort link. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On account to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.

For any titles that are not immediately available to view on the Kanopy site, please complete the Kanopy request form. This will then be reviewed by the relevant subject team to see if a purchase can be approved.

You can watch Kanopy titles on a number of different mobile and TV apps. You can find more information about these different Kanopy apps through the Kanopy support pages.

To access UK national and regional newspapers through the Lexis+ platform, click on the Content tab from the Lexis+ homepage and then select Newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Newspapers selected from the British Library's collections, including the Leicester Chronicle, from 1840-1900.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Access to full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2019.

A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.