LibGuides: Criminology, Policing and Community Justice: Databases

Databases

There are no databases that focus specifically on Criminology, Policing or Community Justice. However, all subjects are covered in the following multidiciplinary databases which are a good starting point for research after Library Search.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

Psychology and Social care

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
This site will no longer be updated from January 2023

Collection of information and research on all aspects of social care - from fostering, to mental health, to human resources etc. Provides good access to grey literature e.g. government and charity reports. Unrestricted access.
To use all the features of Social Care Online you will need to set up a free account with the site. This is separate from your DMU Single Sign On account.

Law

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
An extensive source of information on American and UK law, including UK case law, UK legislation, Legal Journals Index and full text journals.
Please select De Montfort University from the Westlaw sign in screen. You will then be asked to enter your DMU Single Sign On credentials. You will also be asked to enter additional personal information when you log into Westlaw for the first time, including an email account. This is a one-time action.
Oxford Law Trove This link opens in a new window
Click on 'explore the collections', scroll down and select 'Criminology & Criminal Justice'

Lexis+ UK Newspapers This link opens in a new window
To access UK national and regional newspapers through the Lexis+ platform, click on the Content tab from the Lexis+ homepage and then select Newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming TV and radio programmes by title or keyword, compile favourite shows into playlists and share them with others. On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email). Only available in the UK.
Use this guide to find out how to request programmes, edit them into clips, create and share playlists etc..
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to critically-acclaimed movies, thought-provoking documentaries, award-winning foreign films and lots more.

When off campus, please click on Visit the Montfort Collection and then the Log in to Montfort link. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On account to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.

For any titles that are not immediately available to view on the Kanopy site, please complete the Kanopy request form. This will then be reviewed by the relevant subject team to see if a purchase can be approved.

You can watch Kanopy titles on a number of different mobile and TV apps. You can find more information about these different Kanopy apps through the Kanopy support pages.

What are databases?

Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc.

Library Search is a database of databases and allows you to search the content of most databases in one go.

The databases listed below are databases which are particularly relevant to your subject.

Check this link for a list of all individual databases bought by the library.

Useful Journals by Subject

To find all journals, use the Publication Finder (available from the library homepage under the search bar)

Lists of Peer Reviewed Journals: