Databases are useful resources to search for good quality subject-specific research and find journal articles on a topic. . Here are some useful subject databases. Unless otherwise specified, you will need your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for MyDMU and email) to access them within and outside the university.
ProQuest's Nursing and Allied Health Database is a comprehensive online resource for nursing students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals. The database offers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960s to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.
Further research
These are some more databases that you may find useful in your research
This includes e-book access to:
Audiology and Communication Disorders: An Overview, 2nd edn by Larry E. Humes, Fred H. Bess
Handbook of Clinical Audiology, 7th edn by Jack Katz, Marshall Chasin, Kristina English, Linda J. Hood, Kim L. Tillery
and other relevant e-books.
EBSCO's Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed titles.
Available through Kanopy: 23 educational videos supporting early years professionals created by Siren Films.
Access the Siren Films videos here. When off campus, please click on the Log in to Montfort icon. You will then need to enter your DMU Single Sign On username and password to access the Kanopy site. If you have previously logged in as a DMU registered member then you may not be required to sign in again.
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.
Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).
This bibliographic database of over 50,000 books articles and reports from the specialist collection on Social Gerontology held at the Centre for Policy on Ageing. The site provides information about organisations active in the field of old age and ageing and an international calendar of events about old age and ageing.
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.
Please note: students and staff are currently unable to download standards through the FileOpen plug-in when accessing from a DMU PC or DMU-issued device. The library is working with ITMS to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Students/staff using their own (personal) device are unaffected and will be able to install the free FileOpen software.
Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.
To download and print PDF documents from the British Standards site from 1st Sep 2021, you will be required to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. You can still view documents online without the plug-in.
You can download the FileOpen plug-in from the FileOpen website.
Some web browsers will open PDFs in-browser as default behaviour. This will cause an error when opening British Standards PDFs. To avoid this error, please save the document to your device first, and then open the file.
For further information and support, please read the following library news blog post.
The FileOpen Frequently Asked Questions page on the British Standards website can help with some problems encountered when using this software. Some users have reported issues dealing with Digital Rights Management (https://bsol.bsigroup.com/ContentProvider/FAQs?menuSelected=Digital%20Rights%20Management) error messages.
