Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Our unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
Enjoy access to the finest drama texts from Aeschylus to the present day, including the Arden Shakespeare Series.
Now includes streaming media: filmed live performances from Shakespeare's Globe and professional audio recordings from L.A Theatre Works.
The collection includes: realist works from Ibsen and Chekhov; major foreign works in translation; comic masterpieces; modern classics and contemporary writers.
With over 125 plays as well as non-fiction books on theatre, the Aurora Metro Books collection offers a wide-ranging and highly contemporary list of new drama with collections of women’s drama, international drama and drama by black and Asian writers.
Playwrights include Germaine Greer, Roy Williams, Benjamin Zephaniah, Meera Syal, Jean-Claude Carriere, Klaus Mann, Ariane Mnouchkine, Timberlake Wertenbaker, April de Angelis, Judith Herzberg, Hella Haasse, Nawal el Sadaawi, Winsome Pinnock, Beverley Naidoo, Dacia Mariani, Gabrielle Preissova, Enid Bagnold, Githa Sowerby, Aphra Behn, and Elisabeth Robins. The plays cover a broad range of topical subjects including the Arab-Israeli conflict, homophobia, political corruption, Muslim identity, global financial crisis, being an immigrant, war in Bosnia, social media, Iran, Yugoslavia, Africa, and refugees
A captivating production that rebalances gender casting, Peake’s Hamlet is a female character who takes on a male mantle, a fierce and textured Hamlet who imbues the role with anger, indignation, and purpose.
In a compelling film, theatre-practitioner Steven Berkoff brings a host of Shakespeare’s most famous characters vividly to life, ideal for students of Shakespeare and performance.
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Enjoy access to the finest drama texts:
From Aeschylus to the present day.
Student editions, scholarly works and first night programme texts.
The internationally renowned Arden Shakespeare Series.
Realist works from Ibsen and Chekhov.
Major foreign works in translation: Bertolt Brecht, Luigi Pirandello, Eduardo De Filippo, Frank Wedekind and more.
Comic masterpieces from Oscar Wilde and Noël Coward.
Modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Simon Stephens, Mark Ravenhill, Edward Bond, Alan Ayckbourn, Harold Pinter, Christopher Hampton, Brian Friel, Willy Russell, John Osborne, David Greig, David Harrower, April De Angelis, David Hare, Anthony Neilson, Shelagh Stephenson, David Eldridge and many more.
A continually growing collection of the very latest contemporary writers including Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
Now includes streaming media: filmed live performances from Shakespeare's Globe and professional audio recordings from L.A Theatre Works.
The collection includes: realist works from Ibsen and Chekhov; major foreign works in translation; comic masterpieces; modern classics and contemporary writers.
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances.
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 625 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.
A six-hour masterclass with acclaimed master acting teaching Patsy Rodenburg, the film explores her unique approach to voice and acting and her highly sought-after techniques and exercises in Movement, Speech, Body, and Vocal Warm-up.
This collection includes four high-quality recordings of classic plays from Stage on Screen, filmed in front of a live audience at London’s historic Greenwich Theatre. It also includes cast and crew interviews, images, costume, and set designs
