LibGuides: Dubai Law subject guide: Databases

General legal databases

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
An extensive source of information on American and UK law, including UK case law, UK legislation, Legal Journals Index and full text journals.
Please select De Montfort University from the Westlaw sign in screen. You will then be asked to enter your DMU Single Sign On credentials. You will also be asked to enter additional personal information when you log into Westlaw for the first time, including an email account. This is a one-time action.

An introduction to Westlaw UK You will find all the Westlaw UK User Guide Videos from this page.
Westlaw UK user guides All the user guides for Westlaw UK are available here

LexisNexis (for Dubai Campus Only) This link opens in a new window
An online legal research service including case law, legislation and commentary materials. Also provides access to a wide range of full-text local and national newspapers.

Please note: LexisNexis terms and conditions do not permit the uploading of Lexis content into third party applications, including artificial intelligence technologies such as large language models and generative AI (e.g. ChatGPT, Bing, Google Bard and Harvey).

Lexis+® UK Video Hub Includes a series of videos on how to search Lexis+ effectively.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes major full text collections including the full text searchable archive of over 1,500 law journals. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library Guide Quick Reference Guide for HeinOnline Law Journal Library

Oxford Law Trove This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Law Trove Law Trove contains the content of about 200 law textbooks across core and optional modules.

Law Trove - User Guides
From OUP,. a selection of PDF guides, tutorial videos and dates for training webinars on how to use Law Trove

What are databases?

Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Databases can be general or subject specific and can include a wide range of content including full text journal articles, ebooks, reports, abstracts, conference proceedings etc. Legal databases also include case reports, legislation and resources/guidance for practitioners.

The databases listed on the left are specifically legal databases.