Welcome! ProQuest Ebook Central is your resource for eBooks providing breadth and depth of authoritative content, courtesy of your institution.
The range of subjects available include: Arts, Business/Management, Education, General, Health & Medicine, History & Political Science, Law, Literature & Language, Religion & Philosophy, Science & Technology and Social Science.
It’s easy to begin a new search from wherever you are in Ebook Central. Just look for the Search box at the top of the page, or the Search link in the global navigation.
The image to the right shows an example of search results.
The keyword is highlighted in the search results, and there’s a short description to give you a bit more information about the book, including whether it is currently “Available,” “Available on request,” or “In use.”
You can refine your searching by using search filters such as Year Published, Subject, Language, and Author.
Download the book, read it online, see the Table of Contents and more, and add the book to your bookshelf.
Chapter Results provide the top chapters from the most relevant books.
Advanced Searching
Know exactly what you’re looking for? Leverage a wide range of search criteria including:
Faculty may wish to search by Number of Copies to assign course reading.
Don't have a particular topic in mind? Browse a list of available subjects, see what looks interesting to you, and click on a subject link to find out what your institution has on ProQuest Ebook Central.
Doing the same search over and over again? Save time by entering your criteria once, giving your search a name, and saving it to your account. Choose whether to run results online or let us email new results to you.
Whether you find a book through searching ProQuest Ebook Central or your library catalogue, we provide lots of information about the book to help you decide whether to use it for your research.
At a glance you can see:
If you choose to work with a book, you may do the following:
For select books, your institution may offer five (5) minutes of reading before you need to request longer use at no charge to you. Simply click the Request button, fill out the quick form, and submit to your librarian for approval.
From the Table of Contents you may do the following:
Academic Complete & Syndetics Unbound Integration
For researchers whose institution subscribes to the Academic Complete collection, you will now see the following additional elements on the Detail Page:
The Ebook Central Reader was developed with extensive input from researchers, with intuitive navigation to help you quickly find popular features. The default view includes an expandable Table of Contents, a robust Search Within feature, relevancy ranked search terms by chapter, and a navigation tool bar in the content pane:
1. Book Details
View your print and copy allowances.
2. Annotations Icon
View your highlights, notes and bookmarks.
3. Search Within Book
Type your search term into the search box, making sure to put phrases in quotes. Search results are displayed with frequency bars next to each chapter. Select the chapter name to see the results per page and contextual snippets of text.
4. Book Download
Downloading a book is an easy 3-step process to computers, tablets, and phones.
5. Chapter Download
Download a chapter to PDF. Text is searchable and selectable, and a citation is included. Pages included in your Chapter Download are counted as part of your overall print allowances.
6. Copy
Copy the whole page by selecting the copy icon in the navigation toolbar. To copy text within a page, select your text and use the copy icon in the pop-up menu.
7. Print
Create a PDF of a page, or a range of pages that can be printed or saved, and which includes a citation of the book. Printed pages are counted as part of your overall print allowances.
8. Add to Bookshelf
Save this book to your online bookshelf. If you have already added the title, the icon will be disabled.
9. Share Link
Copy a URL to this page in the book, which you may share with others at your institution.
10. Cite
Create a citation from your choice of styles: APA, Chicago/Turabian - Notes-Bibliography, Chicago/Turabian - Author-Date, Harvard, MLA, or Vancouver. If you have a preferred citation style, you may set that preference in Settings.
11. Search Terms by Chapter and Page
Expand the Table of Contents to see search terms by chapter and page and click in the contextual snippet of text to navigate to that page.
12. Zoom Options
Zoom in (+), zoom out (-), fit to width, or fit to page.
13. Go To Page
To navigate to a specific page in the book, click on top of the page number and enter your desired page.
14. Previous/Next
Move backward or forward through a book one page at a time.
15. Settings
Reset your password, change your default citation style, and more.
1. Annotation Pane
The Annotation Pane contains all highlights, notes and bookmarks in a book, arranged by page and type. You may delete an annotation by clicking on the trash can icon and this will remove the annotation from the book and from your bookshelf.
2. Highlights - Pop-up Menu
Select text on a page and choose to highlight in yellow, blue or pink from the pop-up menu.
3. Highlights - Toolbar
Use the highlight icon in the toolbar to highlight text in yellow.
4. Add Note - Pop-up Menu
Create a note by selecting text on a page and choosing the note icon in the pop-up menu. Type your note and click on Save.
5. Add Note - Toolbar
To add a note to the whole page rather than selected text, use the note icon in the toolbar.
6. Bookmarks
Click the bookmark icon in the toolbar, or the upper right of the page, to bookmark a page.
7. Export Notes from Bookshelf
Notes can be exported from your bookshelf. Find the book in your bookshelf, select the More icon and click on Export Notes.
ProQuest Ebook Central offers flexible options for downloading content.
Download the book to computers, tablets, and phones. Simply select your device in the first step, and we’ll guide you through the rest!
Download a chapter, a page, or a range of pages in real PDF. Text is searchable and selectable, and a citation is included in a style of your choice (see the Chapter Downloads tab).
If you’re using a laptop or desktop, you need Adobe Digital Editions a free program that is different than Adobe Reader.
A free Adobe ID is also required to transfer the ebook to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer.
On iOS and Android devices, we recommend to use the Adobe Digital Editions app, which is free from the Apple App Store and Google Play.
You can use other reader apps as long as they are able to handle the Adobe DRM (Digital Rights Management). Search in the app store of your choice for e.g. 'adobe drm reader' or just 'adobe drm' to get a list of potentially suitable apps.
Please note: You do need an Adobe ID to be able to read downloaded books on a mobile device. You can get an Adobe ID for free HERE (link goes out to the Adobe account login page where you have to click on the "Get an Adobe ID"-link).
Now you can download a chapter PDF from the table of contents or download a chapter, page range or single page PDF from the Reader. The PDFs are searchable, selectable, and include a citation and do not expire. Chapter downloads require users to sign-in to their Ebook Central account or continue as Guest. Benefits to signing in include increased copy, print and download allowances, access to your personal Ebook Central Bookshelf where you can save books, chapters, and create/save annotations – and it’s free (and easy)!
The typical print allowance for most titles is 40% of the book. When printing a chapter or range of pages, we deduct from this allowance.
1. Detail Page Chapter Download
Clicking the PDF Chapter Downloads link will direct you to the first entry in the table of contents. From here you may navigate to chapter Download PDF links or subsection Download PDF links throughout the table of contents.
2. Reader Toolbar Chapter Download Icon
From the Reader toolbar, select the Chapter Download or Print to PDF icons and select Page Range options and your citation style. Download and save or print the PDF file.
Chapter downloads now include a daily refresh allowing users to get the content they need and return for more
Read print-to-PDF and chapter download titles on any device that supports .PDF file types – from Kindles and tablets to laptops and mobile devices. Users may transfer files between devices without support limitation.
Your bookshelf in ProQuest Ebook Central keeps track of your downloads, loans and saved books, and lets you share them with others.
Features include:
1.Download & Loans
Easy access to the books you’ve downloaded or have on loan, and a reminder of how many days are remaining.
2. Recently Viewed
Up to 10 titles that you’ve recently viewed are displayed here.
3. Annotated Books
Easy access to all of the books that you have bookmarked, highlighted or added notes to
4. Save to Bookshelf
Organize your books into as many folders as you’d like. Your bookshelf comes with a Research folder and you can add more folders as you need them.
5. Annotations
Access your highlights, notes and bookmarks at the book level quickly and efficiently.
6. Sort By
Sort by Title, Contributor(s), Year Published, Publisher.
7. Share Link to Folder
Share a link to your folder with others at your institution. The link could be used to create online course reading lists or new title lists for patrons and faculty.
8. Email Folder
Email folder contents to other Ebook Central users.
9. Export Folder
Export folder contents in .csv format.
10. Cite Folder
Create a citation from your choice of styles: APA, Chicago/Turabian - Notes-Bibliography, Chicago/Turabian - Author-Date, Harvard, MLA, or Vancouver, or import into RefWorks/Flow or EndNote/Citavi.
11. Export Notes, Share Link to Book, Copy To, Remove
Export your notes and bookmarks; share a link to the book; copy a book to another folder; or remove the book from your bookshelf.
12. Cite Book
Create a citation from your choice of styles: APA, Chicago/Turabian - Notes-Bibliography, Chicago/Turabian - Author-Date, Harvard, MLA, or Vancouver.
13. Select, Copy or Remove Books
Select books and copy them to a new or existing folder or remove books from bookshelf.
A good place to start if you need help is the ProQuest Ebook Central Help Page
ProQuest Ebook Central Training Videos. This page has videos showing you how to search, download, use the reader and your bookshelf.
Connect with the Library
Facebook Twitter InstagramDe Montfort University © 2023